top of page


Two insurance industry leaders were recently elected as new members of the Board of Trustees of the Philippine Insurers and Reinsurers Association (PIRA).

Ms. Generosa "Gigi" Pio de Roda and Mr. Daniel "Danny" C. Go are the two additions to the PIRA Board replacing Shankar Sinha and Andrew Dee Co who have served their terms of office.

Ms. Pio de Roda is the President and CEO of FPG Insurance and the former Chief Operating Officer of Philamlife. She is expected to contribute important insights in business operations transformation with focus on customer experience. She will serve as Trustee and Corporate Secretary of PIRA for this year.

Meanwhile, Mr. Go is the President and CEO of MAA General Assurance and former Vice President for Marketing of Prudential Guarantee. He is an authority in motor car insurance

and once headed the Association of Insurance Claimsmen. He will serve PIRA both as Trustee and Deputy Chairman for 2021.

Mr. Allan R. Santos, President and CEO of National Reinsurance Corporation of the Philippines has been reelected Chairman for the third year and he expressed his gratitude to the PIRA members for their trust in his leadership. He exhorted the 58 member companies of the country's non-life insurance industry group to continue working together to weather the Covid-19 pandemic and the economic recession that the world is experiencing.

"We have proven time and again that we are indeed stronger and better when we work together," he said.

Other elected Trustees of PIRA for 2021 are Ms. Joli Co Wu, President, CEO and Chief Underwriting Officer of Paramount Life and General Insurance Corp. as Trustee and Treasurer; Mr. Alberto C. Santos, Jr., Business Director of BPI/MS Insurance Corporation; Ms. Eden R. Tesoro, Chief Underwriting Officer of Malayan Insurance Company; Mr. Edgardo D. Rosario, Senior Vice President of UCPB General Insurance Company; Mr. Armand M. Pesigan, Senior Vice President of Pioneer Insurance and Surety Corporation; Mr. Arturo B. Reyes, President and CEO of Sterling Insurance Company, Inc. as Trustees.

Retired banker Carmela Leticia "Carlet" A. Pama and former Ateneo Dean and now Ateneo Vice President Rodolfo "Rudy" P. Ang will again be serving PIRA as Independent Directors, while Mr. Michael "Mitch" F. Rellosa and Mr. Rogelio "Roger" J. Concepcion will again serve as Executive Director and General Manager of the Association, respectively.

Ms. Generosa "Gigi" Pio de Roda Mr. Daniel "Danny" Go


bottom of page